THE DOOR OF THE ARAKELOTS (TARGMANCHATS)
MONASTERY IN MUSH
1134, masons: Toros and Grigor, artist: Ghukas
On the occasion of 95 years of the Armenian Genocide
The Arakelots Monastery (the Monastery of the Apostles or Translators) in Moush, the famous centre of medieval Armenian culture and writing, was barbarously ruined in 1915.
German archeologists turned to Turkish authorities to transport the removed door to Berlin. However, the advance of the Russian troops thwarted this plan.
In 1916, the outstanding historian and archeologist Smbat Ter-Avetisian found the door of the Arakelots Monastery in Bitlis, in a booty abandoned by the retreating Turks. With a group of migrants, the door was brought to Tiflis, to the Museum of the Armenian Ethnographic Society and then in 1925, to the History Museum of Armenia.
The saved door is a masterpiece of medieval Armenian art and a unique relic of the Arakelots (Targmanchats) Monastery founded by Gregory the Illuminator as far back as 312.