On November 29, 1920, the Revolutionary Committee of Armenia with the military units of the Eleventh Army declared the sovietization of Armenia. By the Russian-Armenian Agreement of December 2, the government of the Republic of Armenia laid down its power. In the early hours of December 3, the delegation of the resigned government signed a peace treaty with Turkey in Alexandrapol under heavy terms, by which Armenia renounced the Treaty of Sèvres. A firm system of state governing was set up, with a planned programme aimed at the formation and development of the country’s economy and culture. The Constitution of Armenia was adopted on February 3, 1922. It was elaborated within the principles of the RSFSR Constitution. State symbols, i.e. the coat-of-arms and the flag, were fixed in separate articles of the Constitution. Martiros Sarian was the author of the coat-of-arms.

The Exhibition presents:

  • exclusive documents and photographs, connected with the sovietization of Armenia in 1920 and further years of the Republic’s history, personal belongings of outstanding statesmen, chronological tables, which show the course and picture of creating and developing the country’s economy and culture
  • unique documents, testifying the reality of political violence, exile and persecutions that comprised inseparable part of the country’s history
  • personal belongings, documents and photographs of Armenian marshals, generals, officers and soldiers who participated in the Great Patriotic War
  • documents and exhibits, concerning the important economic and cultural events in post-war Armenia.